St Canice’s is a Kindergarten – Year 6 co-educational primary school that serves the communities of Katoomba, Leura, Wentworth Falls, Medlow Bath, Blackheath and Mt Victoria.
The school is a single stream school which enables us to cater to the individual needs of our students.
Our Mission and Vision
St Canice’s seeks to provide a quality education for all the students in our school, both Catholic and non-Catholic, that is contemporary, student-centred and that reflects Gospel values."It takes a village to raise a child", hence students, teachers, parents and the Parish community all work together towards the common goal of ‘Growth Through Love and Learning’.
At St Canice’s we believe that children learn best when:
- they are in an environment that nurtures the formation of Gospel values in the school community, and where all individuals are affirmed for their uniqueness
- they are engaged in learning that is meaningful, dynamic and personally challenging and future-focused
- they are immersed in a learning culture that encourages risk-taking, perseverance and responsibility
- they are in a just, happy and safe environment that provides opportunities to explore and make a positive contribution to our ever-changing world
- they interact and work cooperatively, and are encouraged to share ideas, clarify their understandings and reflect on their learning.
Established by the Sisters of Charity in 1901, St Canice’s has been nestled in the Blue Mountains for over 100 years.
Our school was founded by Sister Dominica McMahon who led the school for a number of years.
The original school was opened on 28th January 1901 and was temporarily located in the old Town Hall on Bathurst Road. Later that year the school relocated to a canvas annex beside the old St Canice’s Church in Katoomba Street. The school has had many homes in its history, in 1903 the building ‘Hillside’ (next door to the current Palais Royale hotel) was purchased and used for the school until 1909.
In 1924, St Canice’s moved once more and was transferred to the same building as Mount St Mary’s College until a new building was erected in the grounds, where it remained until the present St Canice’s was built in 1941. The school was erected with nine classrooms and a shelter basement. By this time, the school was staffed by the Sisters of Charity, De La Salle Brothers and a number of lay staff. While co-ed, the boys occupied the eastern end of the building and the girls the western end. The school was able to accommodate between 300 to 400 students.
In 1977 extensions to the building were made to include an administration block. The current principal, Mrs Miriam Meaney, was appointed at the beginning of 2020. The school is part of the Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta who have assisted in many additions to the school, including a library and music conservatorium. St Canice’s have recently undergone extensive playground improvements and the current project is to incorporate a sustainable Indigenous Garden, outdoor learning area and an adjoining multipurpose room.